Mrs. Kandy Harkin is the Chaplain at St. Ignatius of Loyola Secondary School. The Chaplain is available to support and guide all members of the school community on their faith journey. In order to do this the Chaplain provides opportunities for prayer, sacraments and celebrations of the Eucharist, staff and student retreats, pastoral counselling, resource for student projects, prayer services and class discussion.

By calling forth the talents and gifts of students and staff, the Chaplain encourages a strong sense of Christian community in our school. Fostering both a sense of caring and of social justice, the Chaplain shares in what makes our school a special experience for all who are a part of St. Ignatius of Loyola Catholic Secondary.  Students are welcome to drop by the Chaplain’s office at any time.

St. Ignatius Prayer

June 2016 – Overview for the Month


The month of June is dedicated to The Sacred Heart of Jesus. This month falls within the liturgical season of Ordinary Time, which is represented by the liturgical color green. This symbol of hope is the color of the sprouting seed and arouses in the faithful the hope of reaping the eternal harvest of heaven, especially the hope of a glorious resurrection. It is used in the offices and Masses of Ordinary Time. The last portion of the liturgical year represents the time of our pilgrimage to heaven during which we hope for reward.

The Holy Father’s Intentions for the Month of June 2016

Universal: That immigrants and refugees may find welcome and respect in the countries to which they come.

Evangelization: That the personal encounter with Jesus may arouse in many young people the desire to offer their own lives in priesthood or consecrated life.

Feasts for June

June 1. Saint Justin
June 2. Saints Marcellinus and Peter
June 3. The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus
June 5. 10th Sunday in Ordinary Time
June 6. Saint Norbert
June 9. Saint Ephrem
June 11. Saint Barnabas
June 12. 11th Sunday in Ordinary time
June 13. Saint Anthony of Padua

June 18: Our Lady’s Saturday

June 19. 12th Sunday in Ordinary Time
June 21. Saint Aloysius Gonzaga
June 22. Saint Paulinus of Nola; Saints John Fisher and Thomas More
June 24. The Nativity of Saint John the Baptist
June 26. 13th Sunday in Ordinary Time
June 27. Saint Cyril of Alexandria
June 28. Saint Irenaeus
June 29. Saints Peter and Paul
June 30. The First Martyrs of the Holy Roman Church

Highlights of the Month

As we begin to feel the warmth of summer, we can reflect that we celebrate the feasts of the Sacred Heart of Jesus (June 3) God is Love and the Sacred Heart of Jesus — present on earth in the Blessed Sacrament — is the human manifestation of God’s Love for men. Appropriately June is considered the month for weddings where human hearts join and cooperate with the Creator in bringing forth new life. The family they create is a human reflection of the Blessed Trinity.

Ordinary Time is the hour to “go out to all the world and tell the good news.” The feasts of June highlight this expansion of the Church. At least five times, the Church vests in the red of the martyrs whose blood is the very seed of her growth. She also celebrates the feasts of the apostles Peter and Paul, and the birth of St. John the Baptist, proto-disciple and prophet.

We too are called to be witnesses like the apostles and martyrs. May the Heart of Jesus inflame our hearts so that we may be worthy of our Baptismal call to holiness. Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us.

Source: Bernadette Kenny R.S.H.M



Loving God
be with me now,
as I prepare for my exams.

Thank you for the many talents and gifts you have
given me and for the opportunity of education.

Calm my nerves and anxiety, help me
to remember all that I have studied,
to express it clearly and to answer the questions
the very best that I can.

Holy Spirit, sit with me in my exam
– and always.

In Jesus’ name



What It Means to Be a Peacemaker

Matthew 5:9

“Blessed are the peacemakers,
for they will be called children of God.”

What does it mean to be a peacemaker? First, let’s look at what peace means. In the Bible, it has several different meanings. In terms of human beings, peace has to do with a sense of well-being in all aspects of our lives. It is sometimes described as a feeling of harmony or tranquility. In the Old Testament, the Israelites came to realize that peace is a gift from God. There’s a great story in Chapter 6 of the book of Judges that illustrates this realization.

The story goes that the Israelites were being terrorized by the people of Midian because they offended God. For instance, as soon as the Israelites had finished sowing their fields, the Midians would swoop in and destroy the produce and even the livestock. The Israelites were left with nothing for food, and they were reduced to misery. They turned to God for help. Here’s where we meet Gideon in a surprising twist. God sends his angel not to a great warrior or a famous leader who could save the Israelites in a single bound. No, God sent his angel to Manasseh, the lowliest family of the Israelites. And God chose Gideon, the youngest and most insignificant member of the family, to save Israel from the Midians. After much protest, Gideon listened to God, for God promised that he would be with Gideon and would give him strength, saying “Be calm, do not fear. You shall not die.” (Judges 6:23) Gideon built an altar to God and called it Yahweh-shalom, which means “the Lord is peace.” Gideon came face to face with the God of peace, the one who could transform the lowest of the low into a great leader. Gideon went on to save Israel from the Midians and to bring peace to the land.

This story tells us not only how the Israelites came to realize that God is the source of peace, but that God empowers us to be bearers of peace. Sometimes we might feel insignificant like Gideon, especially when the problems we face are huge: a relationship in conflict, violence in our communities, or poverty and hunger. There are no easy answers to these problems.

Sometimes we are called to tackle issues in a big way. A 12-year-old boy named Craig Kielburger started an organization with some friends to help children throughout the world who were being exploited in the workforce. He didn’t give into the temptation to believe (as Gideon had tried on God) that he was too insignificant to do anything. He stepped up to the plate and went to bat for children around the world.

How are you going to be a peacemaker? How will you help develop a sense of well-being and harmony in your own life? What social problems move you to want to make a difference? Remember, even when you feel like you’re the last person in the world who is cut out to be a peacemaker, think about Gideon’s story and God’s promise of peace, strength, and courage.

Source: Loyola Press June 2016